View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Thu Nov 09, 2006, 01:21am
Nevadaref Nevadaref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 15,015
Actually, I think that 4-3-1 probably covers it, but we just have to wait a bit until the ball is controlled inbounds. Of course, it is not entirely clear that this rule applies since that article ends with the words "as after the jump ball." Some may construe that to mean that article 1 only applies to jump ball situations. If that is the case, then this situation truly is not covered by any existing rule and 2-3 would have to be invoked to set the initial direction of the AP arrow!

You will notice that I don't ask simple questions on this forum. When I ask a question it is usually because there is some uncertainty in the rules.

While it is doubtful that this situation will ever happen, I posted this in the hope that someone will read this and deepen their understanding of how the AP arrow is initially set.
Reply With Quote