View Single Post
  #63 (permalink)  
Old Tue Oct 31, 2006, 01:24pm
M&M Guy M&M Guy is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Champaign, IL
Posts: 5,687
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Yup, just gave it above. A live ball passing through the basket is a legal score as per rule 5-1-1. There never was a dead ball that went through the basket. Nothing happened, by rule(specifically rule 6-7) to ever make the ball dead.

My explanation is what Tomegun posted above...." I blew it and I don't know of a rule that will allow me to waive off the basket". The condensed version is "sh!t happens". Then get the ball back into play asap. Good advice imo.
But it wasn't a live ball, was it? I gave you all the references. Can you give me any references to say that a ball that the officials rule hits the support is still a live ball? And the rule we would use to waive/wave off (dis-allow) the basket would be the correctable error rule - erroneously counting a basket as a result of setting aside a rule.

I know this isn't a real good reason, but sometimes the simplest explanation is the best way to go. I would rather explain to one coach the reason we're taking away their basket is because the ball hit the support. That would be easier than trying to explain to the other coach why we're allowing the basket, even though we know the ball did hit the support.

But I do agree with the comments about "sh!it happens", and getting the ball back in play ASAP. That's still important.
__________________
M&M's - The Official Candy of the Department of Redundancy Department.

(Used with permission.)
Reply With Quote