Quote:
Originally posted by SOWB_Ref
A1 is inbounding on the end line after a made basket within 5 ft of the intersection of the endline and sideline. A2 is standing OOB on the endline within 5ft of the opposite sideline. A3 is adjacent to A2 only inbounds.
A1 throws a pass that bounces OOB and (a) goes to A2 (b)goes to A3 (c) goes toward A3 but A2 intercepts the pass.
I think that creates a conflict. Rule 7-5-7 does state you can pass the ball "along the end line to a teammate(s) outside the boundary line," but it doesn't state that you can dribble it. 7-2-b doesn't give 7-5-7 as an exception to the ball being out of bounds when it hits the floor.
|
SOWB...
I think it is clearcut...
a.) legal
b.) illegal
c.) legal
Additionally, re-read the situation in 7-2.b The ball remains OOB until it contacts inbound status. Keep the count going and play on.