View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 02:49pm
mbyron mbyron is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: NE Ohio
Posts: 7,620
Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeErieUmp
Since "ground rule double" is in the OBR (7.10(b) Comment) we'll probably keep saying it.
7.10b has nothing to do with a fair ball that goes out of play. See 6.09e: batter is "entitled to advance two bases," which makes it a 2-base award.

The mere fact that the words "ground rule double" appear in OBR somewhere or other doesn't justify this usage.
__________________
Cheers,
mb
Reply With Quote