Thread: Post Play
View Single Post
  #116 (permalink)  
Old Fri Oct 13, 2006, 12:27pm
ChuckElias ChuckElias is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jurassic Referee
Sigh....

As posted on this forum before, several times....taken from the same and other NFHS POE's:

"USE OF A FOREARM, REGARDLESS OF THE DURATION OF THE CONTACT, IS A FOUL!"

That is a direct cite from the NFHS 2003-04 rule book.

The usage of a forearm under NFHS rules is NEVER legal under ANY circumstances.
Right. But as btaylor points out, it also says:

When a player uses hands, forearms or elbows to prevent an opponent from maintaining a legal position, it is a foul.

That seems to suggest that it's NOT a foul to use a forearm as long as you don't prevent your opponent from maintaining a legal position.

Now, you and I both know that's NOT what it means. But if you only read the POE and not the section that you cited, that's what somebody would infer. It could be written better there.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote