View Single Post
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 21, 2002, 11:51am
williebfree williebfree is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Central Wisconsin
Posts: 1,069
This is a TWO point basket

As spectacular as Darnell Randolph's effort was while trying to save a ball from going out of bounds it is still a two point basket. Notice that I did not label it as a shot, because (based on the news article) you can not reasonably call it a shot.

Although the ball was released outside of the 3-pt arch, it last touched a playing surface (near the FT line) before entering the basket.

Using Don Fowler's rule citations; (Thanks Don)
Rule 5-1 Goal made when a live ball enters the basket from above. (This consition is met)
Rule 5-2 Thrown ball from beyond 3 point line that does not touch floor counts as 3. (This condition is NOT met; therefore 2 pt basket)
Rule 2-11 Allows referee to correct bookkeeping mistake at any time during the game. (This is immaterial, because the scorer had it right.)

Brian:
I would suggest that the officials huddled just to confirm that they had the right ruling based on the observations of all involved.

THE OFFICIALS GOT THIS ONE RIGHT!

__________________
"Stay in the game!"
Reply With Quote