View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 21, 2002, 10:55am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Actually, by rule, the throwing arm simply needs to be moving forward at the time. The left hand touching the ball is moot.
Actually, that's not true either. The ball only had to have moved forward prior to being loose. Even if the forward, movement has stopped, it's still an incomplete pass if the QB has not completely tucked the ball away.

NFL Rule 3, Section 21, Article 2 Note 2:
When a Team A player is holding the ball to pass it forward, any intentional forward movement of his arm starts a forward pass, even if the player loses possession of the ball as he is attempting to tuck it back toward his body. Also, if the player has tucked the ball into his body and then loses possession, it is a fumble.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote