My take on this umpire is that both calls were rushed. In his haste, he failed to take all of what he saw into account. There are better ways of handling a kicked call.
Play 1 - Seems like he simply kicked the call.
Play 2 - Is difficult to understand. You write that a tag was applied, but that she was prevented from tagging the runner. If the tag was applied, the player had to have control of the ball for an out to be called. In which case, the out should stand. However, if the "tag" was due to F4 trapping the ball on the runner, not having control, and then "dropping" the ball upon untangling, then the OUT call was premature.
__________________
Tony
|