Mark,
NFHS rule 10-4-1a & c address this issue -- disresptectfully addressing an official and using profane or inappropriate language.
At no point in the rule book does it say that this is an automatic flagrant technical foul on the offender. The only automatic flagrant fouls for bench personnel are fighting or leaving the confines of the bench during a fight.
Personally, I'd address the situation exactly how Tony did -- give the technical and see what happens afterwards. If the problem corrects itself (which it did) you go back to playing the game. If not, you can always come back and issue the second technical and eject the coach.
|