View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jan 20, 2002, 11:37pm
Mark Dexter Mark Dexter is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
Quote:
Originally posted by johnSandlin
Joe,

With all do respect, if you saw the same replay that I did from all the angles you will see that the correct call was made after the play was reviewed. As long as the ball did not touch the left hand of the quarterback or cradled back to his body then by rule it is the the throwing motion. From the angle that Referee Walt Coleman had he could not see the other side of the quarterback that well. Upon further review the correct call was made by the official.
Actually, by rule, the throwing arm simply needs to be moving forward at the time. The left hand touching the ball is moot.
__________________
"To win the game is great. To play the game is greater. But to love the game is the greatest of all."
Reply With Quote