View Single Post
  #32 (permalink)  
Old Wed Oct 04, 2006, 07:36am
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Timing is an issue for me here. If the player turned his back and then it was a turn, bang situation, I might see it as a block. If player was already stationary with back to player driving its definately Player control.
Why? There's no rules prerequisite that the player has to be stationary that I know of. They can't be moving towards the dribbler/shooter. And both the NCAA and NFHS rules say that the defender can legally turn or duck to protect themselves from imminent contact-- NCAA rule 4-33-6(g) and NFHS rule 4-23-3(g).
Reply With Quote