View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 27, 2006, 07:05pm
ctblu40 ctblu40 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Here's the contradiction I see. 7.8 seems to imply that an unforced runner can advance on a play after a balk on ball four. This contradicts 7.8 where time is to be called as soon as the catcher catches the ball. For all practical purposes it doesn't make a big difference as if the balk is enforced R2 would be given third. However, if it's not to be enforced he would be in jeapordy should he advance beyond third.


Tim.
I'm not see the same thing as you, Tim. I'm reading it to say that if a runner is not forced to advance because of ball four, the ball becomes dead and the umpire should enforce the balk.

I'm really struggling to see what you perceive to be a contradiction.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman
Reply With Quote