I don't see any contradiction in the rule. In OBR, when a balk is followed by a play, if the runners do not advance on the play and the batter does not attain at least first base, the balk is enforced. Runners are awarded one base and the batter returns to the box with the same count as before the balk.
In other words, if the batter receives ball four and there is no runner on first, you are going to enforce the balk and return the batter to the box with the count previous to the balk.
__________________
When in doubt, bang 'em out!
Ozzy
|