View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Sep 26, 2006, 05:36pm
BigUmp56 BigUmp56 is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: South Bend, In.
Posts: 2,192
Send a message via AIM to BigUmp56 Send a message via Yahoo to BigUmp56
Balk Enforcement

Our recent discussion on when to call time on a balk when ball four is delivered caused me to look closely at the MLBUM. I'm wondering if I haven't found a slight contradiction.


MLBUM

7.8 Penalty for Balk

When a balk is made on a pitch that is a fourth ball it shall be ruled the same as when the batter hits a balk pitch and is safe on a hit or error, provided all runners advance at least one base on the play. Therefore, with a runner on first, first and second, or first, second and third, when a balk is called on the fourth ball, the batter goes to first base and all runners advance at least one base. If they attempt to advance more than one base, they do so at their own risk. However, if first base is not occupied and all other runners do not advance at least one base on the play, the balk penalty prevails: The ball is dead; the batter returns to the batter's box and assumes the same ball and strike count as before the balk pitch; and all runners are allowed to advance one base as penalty for the balk.

I left the questionable text in red. It seems to me that in saying that if an unforced runner doesn't advance on ball four, there would be a situation such as a steal where an unforced runner could advance on ball four and be put in jeapordy should he advance beyond his next base. The contradiction comes later in 7.9 in regards to calling time after a balk.


MLBUM

7.9 CALLING "TIME" AFTER A BALK

(5) If the balk is followed by ball four delivered to the batter and is caught by the catcher, call "Time" and enforce the balk unless all runners advance one base because of ball four. In that situation, play proceeds without reference to the balk.

Am I overthinking this?


Tim.
Reply With Quote