View Single Post
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2006, 05:43pm
IRISHMAFIA IRISHMAFIA is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: USA
Posts: 14,565
Quote:
Originally Posted by greymule

Bottom of second inning, no score.

Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, 1 out. Charles hits a long drive to right center and both runners take off. Abel assumes it's a hit, keeps running, and crosses the plate. Baker is around 2B and on her way to 3B when F9 makes a great catch. F9 throws to 1B to retire Baker on appeal. The defense leaves the field congratulating F9 on her great play.

Forgetting that to nullify Abel's run, the defense would have to appeal for an advantageous fourth out, you allow the game to proceed scoreless.
No, that is incorrect. Abel legally scored assuming she crossed the plate prior to the live ball appeal at 1B (from the OP, that is a logical assumption). That run counts whether the umpire verifies it or not.

Quote:
However, in the bottom of the seventh, with the score still 0-0, (no, it's 1-0) the home coach comes out and says, "Hey Blue, one of our fans tells me that by rule, our girl who crossed home plate in the second inning should have counted. It's a time play, and there was no appeal on her for leaving 3B too soon."
And the coach would be correct, though I would probably snicker at the point a fan had to tell him that.
Quote:

You say . . .
Sure did coach. Thank you for bringing that to our attention.
__________________
The bat issue in softball is as much about liability, insurance and litigation as it is about competition, inflated egos and softball.
Reply With Quote