View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Sep 13, 2006, 03:04pm
greymule greymule is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Birmingham, Alabama
Posts: 3,100
Generally, once a pitch is thrown, you can't move runners around. But if a runner had legally scored and then I noticed after a pitch that she had for some reason returned to 3B, I would take her off the base and count the run. Or if I saw that the offense had switched runners, that would be different.

However, what would you do here?:

Bottom of second inning, no score.

Abel on 3B, Baker on 1B, 1 out. Charles hits a long drive to right center and both runners take off. Abel assumes it's a hit, keeps running, and crosses the plate. Baker is around 2B and on her way to 3B when F9 makes a great catch. F9 throws to 1B to retire Baker on appeal. The defense leaves the field congratulating F9 on her great play.

Forgetting that to nullify Abel's run, the defense would have to appeal for an advantageous fourth out, you allow the game to proceed scoreless. However, in the bottom of the seventh, with the score still 0-0, the home coach comes out and says, "Hey Blue, one of our fans tells me that by rule, our girl who crossed home plate in the second inning should have counted. It's a time play, and there was no appeal on her for leaving 3B too soon."

You say . . .
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
Reply With Quote