However, if F4 is smart and quick enough, like Grey points out above, and he yells out the appeal before tagging R2 or steps on second, that appeal then is the third out of the inning. Since R2 was forced to second base on the batted ball, the third out is a force out and no runs can score.
Yes, that's the way I see it. But this appeal is possible only because ASA permits an immediate live-ball appeal even if the runner is near the base and trying to return to it. In OBR, this type of appeal is not possible—the runner is still in the vicinity of the base (a factor ASA does not recognize)—and thus in the famous OBR case play, the out is a time play and the run scores.
I must say that while I now understand the ASA rule, I find it hard to swallow. Bases loaded, 2 out. Daniels hits a ball off the fence. Three runs score, and Daniels is out at home. The defense appeals Daniels' miss of 1B. The umpire must deny the appeal, and the three runs count.
Suppose Daniels had slid home on a close play and been called safe. The appeal at 1B would then be upheld and all the runs nullified. In that case, Daniels would argue with the umpire that he was in fact out at home and how could the guy be so blind as to call him safe. F2 would then be claiming that he dropped the ball and Daniels was indeed safe. I want to see this someday—the runner arguing that he was out, and the catcher arguing that the runner was safe.
__________________
greymule
More whiskey—and fresh horses for my men!
Roll Tide!
|