Okay Bob, I'll try to recreate it.
The runner got in a rundown between 1st and 2nd. They threw it back and forth to each other. The runner was obstructed going back into 1st by F4 just a few feet from 1st base. The contact was slight, as R1 had to alter his path. He still made it back to 1st safely on a fairly close play, not a banger. The umpire had already signaled time as soon as he saw the obstruction (type A), and then awarded R1 2nd base on the obstruction.
The kid who was coaching 1st must have thought the ump had called R1 out, because he frantically began signaling "safe" (good mechanics!) before the umpire awarded 2nd base.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
|