To backup MJT (hey, we're a crew out here!):
Rule 6-5 (partially quoted) - "Any kicking team member may recover a free kick if it has both touched the ground and goes beyond the plane of R's free-kick line. The two requirements may occur in any order."
That may not be a complete answer, so lets jump to 7-1-1. Again, I'm to going to quote partially to remove the confusing stuff that doesn't apply. "While any free kick in in flight in or beyond the neutral zone..., K shall not: Touch the ball or R, unless blocked into the ball or R.... .
The exception noted in this rule applies only to scrimmage kicks.
Reading (rules) is fun-da-mental!!!!