Thread: Opening Kickoff
View Single Post
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 09:03pm
MJT MJT is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Alton, Iowa
Posts: 1,796
Quote:
Originally Posted by Indy_Stu
Below is what I replied to our association. No more posts from me, I'll let this forum chime in, and go with the majority:

Rule 6-1-5 says "If any kicker recovers or catches a free kick, the ball becomes dead. It belongs to him unless it is kick-catching interferrence and R chooses an awarded fair catch or unless it is first touching."

The definition of a recovery involves "gaining possession of a live ball after it strikes the ground."
The definition of a catch involves "establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, ..."

This situation involves R which has "scattered" and was not in position to make a catch (thus no Kick Catching Interference). The ball has travelled the required 10 yards (thus no First Touching) when K makes a catch. Rule 6-1-5 says when K can keep it, not that R always gets it. K's ball 1st and 10 at the R45. Officials should have blow it dead immediately, however.
Indy-Stu, 6-5-6 exception, which is about KCInterference says "K may catch, touch, muff, or bat a scrimmage kick in flight beyond the NZ if no player R is in position to catch the ball. It only says this is for a scrimmage kick cuz both going beyond R's plane and touching the ground MUST happen for K to legally catch, touch, muff, or bat a free kick.
100% sure on this one.

Great to have you on the board! Keep it up!
Reply With Quote