Thread: Opening Kickoff
View Single Post
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 08:46pm
Indy_Stu Indy_Stu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10
Below is what I replied to our association. No more posts from me, I'll let this forum chime in, and go with the majority:

Rule 6-1-5 says "If any kicker recovers or catches a free kick, the ball becomes dead. It belongs to him unless it is kick-catching interferrence and R chooses an awarded fair catch or unless it is first touching."

The definition of a recovery involves "gaining possession of a live ball after it strikes the ground."
The definition of a catch involves "establishing player possession of a live ball which is in flight, ..."

This situation involves R which has "scattered" and was not in position to make a catch (thus no Kick Catching Interference). The ball has travelled the required 10 yards (thus no First Touching) when K makes a catch. Rule 6-1-5 says when K can keep it, not that R always gets it. K's ball 1st and 10 at the R45. Officials should have blow it dead immediately, however.
Reply With Quote