Thread: Opening Kickoff
View Single Post
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Aug 21, 2006, 08:29pm
Indy_Stu Indy_Stu is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 10
Thanks for posting. This was posed by our association as our "Play of the Day" and the answer that was given, well I disagree with.

My answer:
First, any time K catches or recovers a free kick the ball becomes dead. The officials in the given scenario let K45 run, but they should have stopped the action. Secondly, I am going with K’s ball on the R’s 45 yard line going in. I rule this way because 6-1-5 says K keeps the ball if he catches or recovers a free kick, provided he hasn’t fouled or first touched. Since R “scattered” they were not in a position to catch the kick - - no kick catching interference, no awarded fair catch. The ball was past the 10-yard free kick line - - no first touching, no R ball. See pp. 49-50 6-1-5 and 6-1-6.

Association answer:
Where? 1st & 10 from the R-45
Whose ball? Receiver's ball
6-1-5 (p.49)
If any kicker recovers or catches a free kick, the ball becomes dead.
Since the ball was not grounded nor touched by any member of the kicking team, the receivers will have possession 1st & 10.

I disagree because of rule 6-1-5 and the definition of first touching, 2-12-1 on p.26. The definition of first touching on a free kick is in the field of play before the ball has crossed R's free kick line, so I believe K has legally recovered and can keep the ball.
Reply With Quote