View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 14, 2002, 01:47pm
bard bard is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 223
Wink

The rule is 4-43-2. Condensed version states,
"A player who catches the ball while moving or dribbling, may stop, and establish a pivot foot as follows:
...On one foot, the player may jump off that foot and simultaneously land on both. Neither foot can be a pivot in this case."

4-43-5 further states, "After coming to a stop when neither foot can be a pivot:
a. One or both feet may be lifted, but may not be returned to the floor before the ball is released on a pass or try for goal.
b. Neither foot may be lifted before the ball is released, to start a dribble."

Translated for N. Dakota, ;-) this means that your dairy cow, when catching the ball after dribbling or receiving a pass, may "jump" off of the pivot hoof and land on all 4 hooves. There is now no pivot hoof, and Elsie must keep all 4 hooves on the floor unless lifting 1 or more on the release of a pass or shot. The hooves must also stay in place prior to the bull, er ball, being released on a dribble.

If the player is dribbling while standing still, they don't get to pick up the dribble and jump if they are dribbling while standing still. (Same for receiving a pass.) My interpretation is that the "jump stop" allows the player to use a "jump" to help them "stop" their momentum.
Reply With Quote