Quote:
|
Originally Posted by ctblu40
This is a great response. I contend that by not punishing the offensive team, the umpire is certainly setting himself up for a protest. Regardless of the Batters intent, he advanced to first base without being eligible to do so. If B2 completes B1's at bat, there has to (after a proper appeal) be an out called. Otherwise, it's unfair to the defense.
BTW- This is a great thread!
|
And as I posted earlier, I contend that the umpire bringing R1 back to bat after a pitch, play or attempted play has occurred is setting himself up for a protest...for misapplying the protest rule by basically correcting an error that had to be corrected before the next pitch, play or attempted play.
What's fair to the defense is for the umpire to uphold a properly lodged protest on the field. What's unfair is to deny a proper protest.