Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim C
OK, just got involved in this one.
Age of players doesn't matter (but they are 9 and 10).
Bases Loaded -- One Out!
Pitcher balks,
All runners advance BUT batter also jogs to first.
No one notices (I know bad, but it is what happened):
After two pitches are thrown the PU recognizes that the bases are still juiced and figures out what happened.
He calls time and returns (illegal R1) to bat:
TD comes out of crowd and says after a pitch was thrown the error cannot be corrected and over rules the PU placing (Batter) R1 back to first.
Any takers?
Regards
|
TEE, your thread is definitely a 9.01c ruling.
First I agree with another poster. THE TD has no business being on the playing field UNLESS he is asked to. From the thread he wasn't asked to, he took it upon himself to interject in the game. Therefore, I ignore whatever he said.
I disagree with the others as far as what I would do. I would leave things as they are:
Why!
I would treat it similar to an appeal play. If a runner misses a base and the defense does not appeal before the next pitch or play - All bets off.
The aforementioned thread is similar. As soon as the defense saw B1 jogging to first on the balk call, they should have asked for time and questioned the umpires at that point.
Here we have 2 pitches thrown and the defense still has said nothing so I would leave B1 at first and continue. I believe it is said that the particpants should be aware of the rules ala the IF situation.
Pete Booth