View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 17, 2006, 02:46pm
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP
Isn't that technically incorrect, per POE 1.J - first sentence? "If an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced to advance and the out is a force out..." implies to me that the force is still there - otherwise, wouldn't they have left that out? (I understand that the runner is considered to have touched, etc., etc.)
No, the force is not still there, and a runner who has missed a base must be tagged. What the POE says, however, is if (after whatever happens on the field is done) an appeal is honored at a base to which a runner was forced, that appeal out is considered a force out. It does not say that the force is still on with respect to the live runner. (Consider the simple case of a runner overrunning first base and missing, with the throw coming in 2 seconds later with F3 on the bag - it's not an out unless F3 appeals the miss or tags the runner and appeals. Just touching first base with no indication of appeal is not enough.)
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote