View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Aug 17, 2006, 10:52am
mcrowder mcrowder is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by bluezebra
Baker never touched 2B, force is still on. Tag Baker, out on force play for THIRD OUT. No run can score by rule.

Bob
No, it's not a force play once Baker passed second base - he is considered to have touched the base when he passes it for purposes of force outs. The tag is then merely the same as tagging him between 2nd and 3rd base - not a force. The APPEAL, then, however, becomes a force and nullifies the run. (IOW, absent the appeal, run scores).
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote