Quote:
Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
3) You may have thought the calling official was wrong, but once he made his ruling, there is no more issues to discuss.
[/B]
|
Mark T.,now I'm going to argue "rulebook verbiage" with you.When I answered above,I was well aware of R2-6(referees authority) and R2-7-5 on administering penalties.The problem is that R2-7-5 doesn't comment on administering penalties to the wrong player.If you read the original post,W21 was at the other end of the court when the foul occurred.It is completely unfair to charge W21 with this foul,especially if you and the scorer,etc. are absolutely sure that he was nowhere near the play.If you reference Casebook 2-11-10B,you will get the the following-"the situation is not due to the inadvertant setting aside of a rule but is a mistake in record keeping".The point is that an official caused the mistake in record keeping in this case,not the scorer.You are not trying to get an official to change his call.You are trying to make sure that the official's call was on the correct player.As a result,I will argue that the Referee can order a correction to be made to the book.In this case,I'd make the correction and tell my partner(s) that I'll take all the heat if there's a problem.Wrong is wrong!
Btw,don't be too hard on TXmatt.We need all the good young officials we can get.When he(hopefully) becomes one of us,he will also be (hopefully) taught how to deal with these situations without making his partners look bad.The officials'code and the importance of ethics,etc. will be part of his learning process.Cut him some slack until then.