View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Aug 15, 2006, 11:26am
The Roamin' Umpire The Roamin' Umpire is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 463
Heh - didn't we just talk about this on the NFHS forum?

Anyhow - take a look at NFHS Casebook 6.5.7A. The Fed doesn't want this enforced as a PSK foul, but instead from the previous spot, resulting in 1/10 for K from the K48.

The problem is in the language defining PSK. I'll quote from my own post on the NFHS forum:

Quote:
Consider a play where R commits any would-be PSK foul, and K downs (recovers) the punt.

2-16-2g5 says "K does not have possession of the ball when the down ends and will not be next to put the ball in play." (my emphasis) Since K does have possession when the down ends, this condition is false. They really want this to say "or" instead of "and."

But let's even assume that correction is made. Now K accepts the foul, which (by 5-1-6) cancels R's right to take possession at the spot of first touching. So, is it a PSK foul?

5-2-2 tells us that the ball belongs to A or K after a foul, unless it's a PSK foul. So, if it's not a PSK foul, then it's K's ball, confirming that it's not PSK. But if it is a PSK foul, then it's R's ball, confirming that it is PSK. The circular logic works out in this case, but it still really needs to be cleaned up.
Reply With Quote