View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Aug 09, 2006, 07:48am
kentref kentref is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Omaha, Nebraska
Posts: 260
Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
I need an experienced focus group to analyze the following questions and verify that I haven't screwed anything up, so what better place to turn than here....

These will be placed on our association's preseason test (NFHS rules). Thank you in advance for your time and effort.....



#1. 4/10 @ the R-40 yard line. K’s punt lands at the R-5 yard line and is bouncing toward R’s goal line when K55 bats the ball back to the R-8 where it strikes R89 in the back. R89 turns around and while trying to recover the loose ball at the R-6 yard line, accidentally kicks it toward the sideline, where R60 then bats the ball at the R-10 yard line to keep K55 from recovering it. The ball goes out of bounds at the R-12 yard line. After the ball goes out of bounds, K55 uses insulting and vulgar language directed at R60.

Assuming every foul(s)—if any—is/are accepted and enforced, it will be _____’s ball, _____ down and _____ yards to go at the _______ yard line, and the clock starts on the RFP/Snap (circle one).

R's ball, 1st and 10 from R's 20 yard line. Clock starts on the snap.




#2. After a timeout, it is K’s ball, 4/10 @ the K-40 yard line. While the ball is in flight, R1 signals for a fair catch by waving his hand once in front of his facemask. K51 tackles punt returner R1 just before the ball arrives. The ball bounces off of K51’s back and is rolling on the ground at the R-30 yard line when the Back Judge sounds an inadvertent whistle.

Assuming every foul(s)—if any—is/are accepted and enforced, it will be _____’s ball, _____ down and _____ yards to go at the _______ yard line, and the clock starts on the RFP/Snap (circle one).


K's ball, 4/10 at the K 40 yard line. Clock starts on the RFP.


#3. A’s ball, 1/10 @ the A-22 yard line with the clock running with 10 seconds left in the 3rd quarter. When Team A comes to the line of scrimmage, the Umpire notices that tight end A89 has an excessive amount of blood on his uniform. He stops the clock with :06 remaining and directs A89 to his team bench to be replaced. A89 is replaced by A80 and the Referee signals the RFP by winding the clock. Time expires before A can legally snap the ball.
On the first play of the 4th quarter, quarterback A1 is roughed by B90 after throwing a legal forward pass to A89, who is tackled at the A-46 yard line. After the play, A1 uses a profanity at B90.

Assuming every foul(s)—if any—is/are accepted and enforced, it will be _____’s ball, _____ down and _____ yards to go at the _______ yard line, and the clock starts on the RFP/Snap (circle one).

A's ball, 1st and 10 on the A 46 yard line (because the period ended, A89 can legally participate).




#4. A’s ball, 4/10 @ the A-30 yard line. At the snap, center A55 fires out and blocks nose guard B90 at the knees. While A55 is still contacting B90 at the knees and after a short delay, left tackle A76 blocks B90 in the chest, knocking him down. Linebacker B57 trips runner A1 who falls to the ground at the A-32 yard line. The ball never left the free-blocking zone during the down. After the play, a Team B assistant coach comes onto the field to the bottom of the 9-yard numbers and expresses his displeasure for the block on B90 by shouting obscenities at the Umpire.

Assuming every foul(s)—if any—is/are accepted and enforced, it will be _____’s ball, _____
down and _____ yards to go at the _______ yard line, and the clock starts on the RFP/Snap (circle one).

B's ball, 1st and 10 at the A 47 yard line. Clock starts on the snap.



#5. A’s ball, 3/5 @ the B-15 yard line with the clock running. Quarterback A1 throws a legal forward pass that is intercepted by B49 at the B-3 yard line, where his momentum carries him into the end zone. B49 then runs out of the end zone and is tackled at the B-17 yard line. During B49’s run, B75 clipped A81 in B’s end zone. Also, Team A only had 6 players on the line of scrimmage at the snap.

If Team B accepts K’s Illegal Formation foul, the result of the play/penalty(ies) is ___________
And it will be Team ____’s ball, at the ________ yard line. The ball will be put in play by a snap/free kick (circle one).

If Team B declines K’s Illegal Formation foul, the result of the play/penalty(ies) is ___________
And it will be Team ____’s ball, at the ________ yard line. The ball will be put in play by a snap/free kick (circle one).
If Team B accepts K's Illegal Formation foul it creates a double foul and you will replay the down. A's ball, 3rd and 5 from B's 15 yard line. Clock starts on the snap.
I Team B declines K's Illegal Formation foul the result of the play is a safety. B will free kick to A from B's 20 yard line. Clock starts when the ball is first touched by the receiving team (other than first touching by K).

Good questions!
__________________
kentref
Reply With Quote