Quote:
Originally Posted by DJ_NV
#1. 4/10 @ the R-40 yard line. K’s punt lands at the R-5 yard line and is bouncing toward R’s goal line when K55 bats the ball back to the R-8 where it strikes R89 in the back. R89 turns around and while trying to recover the loose ball at the R-6 yard line, accidentally kicks it toward the sideline, where R60 then bats the ball at the R-10 yard line to keep K55 from recovering it. The ball goes out of bounds at the R-12 yard line. After the ball goes out of bounds, K55 uses insulting and vulgar language directed at R60.
|
Result: R 1/10 @ R20, snap. R's foul for illegal batting is a PSK foul, with basic spot at end of kick (R12). Since spot of the foul is behind that (R10), enforce half the distance from there, putting the ball @ R5. Then penalize K 15 yards for USC from that spot.
Quote:
#2. After a timeout, it is K’s ball, 4/10 @ the K-40 yard line. While the ball is in flight, R1 signals for a fair catch by waving his hand once in front of his facemask. K51 tackles punt returner R1 just before the ball arrives. The ball bounces off of K51’s back and is rolling on the ground at the R-30 yard line when the Back Judge sounds an inadvertent whistle.
|
Result: K 4/10 @ K40, ready. Best (OK, least-bad) possible time to have an IW is on a double foul, which this is - R for invalid FC signal, and K for KCI. There are no options, because PSK does not apply when there's an IW.
Quote:
#3. A’s ball, 1/10 @ the A-22 yard line with the clock running with 10 seconds left in the 3rd quarter. When Team A comes to the line of scrimmage, the Umpire notices that tight end A89 has an excessive amount of blood on his uniform. He stops the clock with :06 remaining and directs A89 to his team bench to be replaced. A89 is replaced by A80 and the Referee signals the RFP by winding the clock. Time expires before A can legally snap the ball.
On the first play of the 4th quarter, quarterback A1 is roughed by B90 after throwing a legal forward pass to A89, who is tackled at the A-46 yard line. After the play, A1 uses a profanity at B90.
|
Result: A 1/21 @ A11, ready. Another double foul, with no options. A89 has committed ill. part. and obviously RTP on B90. Then enforce the dead-ball foul against A1, half the distance.
Quote:
#4. A’s ball, 4/10 @ the A-30 yard line. At the snap, center A55 fires out and blocks nose guard B90 at the knees. While A55 is still contacting B90 at the knees and after a short delay, left tackle A76 blocks B90 in the chest, knocking him down. Linebacker B57 trips runner A1 who falls to the ground at the A-32 yard line. The ball never left the free-blocking zone during the down. After the play, a Team B assistant coach comes onto the field to the bottom of the 9-yard numbers and expresses his displeasure for the block on B90 by shouting obscenities at the Umpire.
|
Result: B 1/10 @ A47, snap. No live-ball fouls here - the blocks are legal, as is tripping the runner. USC on the coach which, as a dead-ball foul, is not considered in awarding a new series.
Quote:
#5. A’s ball, 3/5 @ the B-15 yard line with the clock running. Quarterback A1 throws a legal forward pass that is intercepted by B49 at the B-3 yard line, where his momentum carries him into the end zone. B49 then runs out of the end zone and is tackled at the B-17 yard line. During B49’s run, B75 clipped A81 in B’s end zone. Also, Team A only had 6 players on the line of scrimmage at the snap.
|
Result: A 3/5 @ B15, ready. B will not decline, since the result would be a safety. So this is another double foul. Clock on the ready because the only reason it stops is for an official's time-out. (I'd really, REALLY like to see this changed - it's awfully counterintuitive.)