Quote:
Originally Posted by mcrowder
I didn't call you stupid. Maybe you should re-reread the OP, though. Unless the on-deck circle was drawn in the coach's box (in my "vast experience", I've never seen that, have you?), then the runner, when she interfered, was more than just a couple of steps off the bag. This could be 15-20 feet (probably the closest I've ever seen the ODC to 3rd base) or it could be 40 or 50 feet. In both cases, easy catch and throw DP... but even if it was drawn 2 steps from third base, if the runner is close enough to interfere with the catch, the runner is CERTAINLY within range of a tag if the ball is allowed to be caught - again, easy DP.
BTW - the DP talk is not really even necessary for making this call, since 2 outs is SPECIFICALLY pointed out in this EXACT situation in the rulebook. But the possible DP does explain the reasoning for the rule, and keeps it consistent with other interference situations where a runner has broken up a potential DP.
|
No you didn't call me stupid - but it was insinuated by a smarta$$ comment (IMO). I understand the rule calls for both to be called out. (I'm curious about other rulesets though and I'm too lazy to look.)
My point about the runner being close enough to be tagged out was that if the pop is near the on-deck circle and that's a routine play there's no way the runner is going to be off the bag far enough to be thrown/tagged out. They would only be off that far if they are stupid (like me) or showing off (which would also be stupid).