Quote:
Originally Posted by Eli1
I get a different reading depending on who I talk to. So here is my question/scenario: In a Class D ASA Slowpitch game, stealing is allowed on a pitched ball unless the ball is dead, i.e. hits the plate or lands in front of the plate. In this level is a pitched ball dead or not, when it clearly hits the "black" portion of the plate. I have some folks saying that the black portion of the plate isn't part of the plate for this rule and others telling me that the plate is the plate regardless of what color it happens to be. I just want to get it right!
thx
Eli1
|
I wont address the Class D part of the question but as for the plate,
The black is considered a part of the plate in ASA.
I realize the dimensions eliminate the black edge of the standard plate......but........
Many people including ASA's old UIC and Asst UIC (Merle Butler and Henry Pollard) have proven that you
cannot hit the black border of the plate with a round ball and not have had some sort of touch in the white also..
This is standard teaching at any ASA National School, THE BLACK IS PART OF THE PLATE.
I dont' have a case book handy, but I am dead certain that this is or has been covered in past and present issues of that book.