Why do most of you assume R1 was close to where the catch would occur? F5 started in fair ground and had to cross the base line to get to the ball and so the R1 could be way beyond tagging distance from F5 at the ball, if F5 got there. The OP reads to me like R1 was in the way of F5 headed for the ball, nothing implied about R1 being near the ball.
Of course, none of that matters to the 2-out interpretation of the rule, which is what the OP asked and probably why the geography was not specified in the OP.
With 2 outs by rule, the rest of the parameters don't matter, except to understand the reasoning of the rule, as mcrowder said.
__________________
Officiating takes more than OJT.
It's not our jobs to invent rulings to fit our personal idea of what should and should not be.
|