View Single Post
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jul 20, 2006, 07:43pm
Camron Rust Camron Rust is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by BktBallRef
Without seeing it, we can't give you a black and white answer.

If you controlled the ball when you batted it, then you started a dribble. When you caught the ball, that dribble ended. Therefore, you can't dribble again.

Evidently, the official didn't see the bat as control, in which case it would be legal for you to begin a dribble after gaining possession.

Yeah, I know....clear as mud. But that's the rule. It's up to the official to judge the difference.
Furthermore, if the bat were to be considered a dribble, it would be an illegal dribble to catch the ball before it hits the floor (as the OP seems to be describing). So, its not a question of dribbing again.
__________________
Owner/Developer of RefTown.com
Commissioner, Portland Basketball Officials Association
Reply With Quote