Without seeing it, we can't give you a black and white answer.
If you controlled the ball when you batted it, then you started a dribble. When you caught the ball, that dribble ended. Therefore, you can't dribble again.
Evidently, the official didn't see the bat as control, in which case it would be legal for you to begin a dribble after gaining possession.
Yeah, I know....clear as mud. But that's the rule. It's up to the official to judge the difference.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott
"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
|