quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach on 02-27-2000 10:16 PM
This seems to fall into the same category as rebounding your own airball, only less controversial. If the referee determines that it was a legitimate shot attempt, it should not be a double dribble. If it appears to be a pass off the backboard gone awry, it is a double dribble. The interpretation of what the player was doing should be the key in this situation.
It would seem that way, but it's not true. The ball contacting the backboard is the same as hitting the floor, except that hiotting your own backboard is *not* the start of a dribble. So, in this case, no violation, no judgment needed.
See case 4.15.4C, especially part (c).