View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Jul 09, 2006, 03:40pm
LakeErieUmp LakeErieUmp is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 325
"Electricity"???

This was a first. U15 rec league. Runner on first. Ground ball to second baseman. He tags runner with his glove, but the ball is in his bare hand. BU calls him out. (A disagreement ensued, but who cares - it was only a couple coaches.) After the game BU stopped to chat for a few with me (I was watching, not working) and explained the fielder did not have to tag the runner from first with the ball in his glove because it was a force play (so far so good) SO THE FIELDER COULD TOUCH THE RUNNER WITH ANY PART OF HIS BODY WHETHER HE TOUCHED HIM WITH THE BALL OR NOT BECAUSE THE FIELDER WAS "HOT". (Quote). I remember "electricity" from tag as a little kid, but I must have missed the rule that says a fielder is "hot" on a force and can tag runner without the ball.

Oh. His explanation was that since fielder can step on the base with a body part and not have to tag the base with the ball the same thing applies on the basepaths. I've been reading and re-reading 7.08 (and its FED equivalent) as well as the 2.00 definition of "tag".

Please tell me I'm not crazy and this BU just made it up!
Reply With Quote