View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 01:18pm
HawkeyeCubP HawkeyeCubP is offline
(Something hilarious)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: These United States
Posts: 1,162
Question Re: ASA website June Clarification on Runner Interference Play

In reading the following play on the ASA website, something didn't seem totally right about the Ruling to me. Follow me here, and enlighten me if necessary.

Play Question – Turn at Bat After Interference

SITUATION: Two outs and R1 on 1B, B2 hits a pop fly close to the foul line near 1B. R1 runs into F3 who is moving towards the pop fly to attempt a catch. The umpire rules “dead ball” and declares R1 out for interference. The pop fly hits the ground in fair territory then bounces foul before reaching 1B. Does the batter who hit the pop fly start the next inning at bat, or has their turn at bat been completed?

RULING: In this situation, the batter became a batter-runner when the pop fly was hit (Rule 1, TURN AT BAT) and R1 was correctly declared out for interference (Rule 8, Section 7 J 1). The batted ball touching the ground in fair territory and then bouncing into foul territory is of no consequence to this situation. B2 is credited with a fielder’s choice and B3 leads off the next inning.

NOTE: Rule 1, TURN AT BAT (page 59). A turn at bat begins when a player first enters the batter’s box and continues until the player is substituted for, put out, or becomes a batter-runner while at bat.


It seems to me that the Ruling is pointing at the batter becoming a BR when they batted the ball as being the determining factor in making a ruling on what should happen to the batter/BR. This doesn't make sense to me - isn't the determining factor on plays like this the position of the fly ball (either over fair = fair fly ball, or over foul = foul fly ball) at the time of the INT?

I.E. ASA Rule 1 - Definitions - Foul Ball - A foul ball is a batted ball that: D. While over foul territory, a runner interferes with a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball.
&
ASA Rule 1 - Definitions - Fair Ball - A fair ball is a legally batted ball that: D. While over fair territory, a runner interferes with a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball.

If I'm totally wrong here, wouldn't the Clarification Ruling contradict slightly, or at least not quite mesh with POE 33-A-d?

ASA POE 33-A-d.

If interference occurs by the runner on a foul fly ball not caught, the runner is out, a strike is called, the ball is dead, and the batter remains at bat. (Slow Pitch Only) If on the third strike, it would be two outs.


Ooooorrrr....perhaps I'm just not seeing exactly what I want to see in the explanation of the Ruling, since it's addressing turns at bat.

Sorry for the ramble. Typing things out is helpful to my learning process.

[The reason this jumped out at me is that it happened on my field earlier this year, and I looked it up that night after the game. - In our situation, the fly ball was over foul territory when the INT happened, and landed and stayed foul. There were less than two outs, and we ruled R1 out for INT and mistakenly awarded the BR 1B. My thinking at the time was that the batted ball hadn't gained fair or foul status at the time of the INT, so it wasn't any different, theoretically, than a line drive over fair territory. In re-reading the definitions of "Fair Ball" and "Foul Ball" that night, I realized my mistake.]

Always learning,
HCP
Reply With Quote