Quote:
|
Originally Posted by Jimgolf
Maybe this is just semantics, but questioning a judgment call, "Why was that a block and not a charge?" and questioning judgment "What are you, nuts?" are two different things to me. One is asking for clarification, and one is unsportsmanlike.
|
Jim, the rules simply do
not allow coaches to question judgement calls in any way, including both instances listed above. As Rut has already said(and I agree with his statement), if they do so, then they certainly do run the risk of getting whacked. Now whether they actually do get whacked or not when they question a judgement call is simply up to the tolerance level of each individual official.
I was just pointing out what the rules actually say in regards to what coaches are legally allowed to do- and basically, under the rules, they are just supposed to coach. If they do think that we misapplied or misinterpreted a rule, they can then get their captain to ask us for an explanation. Question judgement though? Never- by rule, but different in real life.