View Single Post
  #20 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 05, 2006, 08:14am
BktBallRef BktBallRef is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by SmokeEater
Sure but not into a substitutes uniform. It would have to be to a backup jersey withthe same number.
Not true.

There's no requirement that the jersey be the same number. That's why the rule allows the number to be changed in the score book without penalty.

3.2.2 SITUATION E:
Team A properly submits its team member list and designates the five starters as required at least 10 minutes before the scheduled start of the game. Anytime thereafter, either before the game starts or during the game, the coach asks the scorer to change a number in the scorebook: (a) so it corresponds to what the team member is wearing; (b) because a player's shirt has excessive blood on it; or (c) because a player's shirt is torn.

RULING: In (a), a technical foul is charged to Team A. In (b) and (c), the shirt is changed and the number change made in the scorebook without any penalty.
__________________
"...as cool as the other side of the pillow." - Stuart Scott

"You should never be proud of doing the right thing." - Dean Smith
Reply With Quote