Thread: here we go
View Single Post
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 30, 2006, 10:16am
Dakota Dakota is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Twin Cities MN
Posts: 8,154
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
You've yet to convince me that the ruleset defines this as a "missing base".
Not in the classic sense, it isn't, since the runner never reached the base in the first place.
Quote:
Originally Posted by rwest
If this is an appeal situation what is the defence appealing? The defensive coach is not going to say that R2 missed home. He's going to appeal that R2 touched home after BR. There's no appeal for this. There's no rule that addresses this situation specifically. You have to interpret that R2 "missed home". Show me where I'm wrong and I'll gladly change my opinion and rule accordingly.

Thanks!
10-1 comes into play here. This situation is not covered in the rules. Therefore, it may be a reasonable use of 10-1 to apply the two rules cited above, following the logic posted above. I don't know if that was the end result of the 2 hour discussion, but I could support it if it was.
__________________
Tom
Reply With Quote