Thread: Lane Violation
View Single Post
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jun 16, 2006, 05:17pm
Jurassic Referee Jurassic Referee is offline
In Memoriam
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Originally Posted by coach_x
A1 shooting 2nd of 2 FTs. B1 steps in lane early. A1 shoots and goes in lane early. A1 makes the basket.

So, we have a delayed violation on B1. However, when offense violates, it is immediate whistle. Do you blow it dead & re-shoot because defense violated first? Do you blow it dead & count basket because defense violated? Do you hold whistle & count FT?

This was game 4 of 5 in a long day of kids AAU ball. We just went double violation, possession arrow & moved forward. We talked later & the 3 of us could not agree on "proper" handling of situation.
You got it right on the court. It's a double violation blown dead immediately with no FT scored followed by an AP at the closest OOB spot to where the violations occurred. NFHS rule 9-1PENALTY4(b) and 9-1PENALTY3. The only time that you don't have a double violation with an immediate dead ball is if the first violation by the defense is ruled as disconcertion.

Last edited by Jurassic Referee; Fri Jun 16, 2006 at 05:20pm.
Reply With Quote