View Single Post
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 14, 2006, 09:10am
Rich Ives Rich Ives is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by cbfoulds
Bulltwinkies!

The runner had been standing on 3d FOR 2 PITCHES!
While he could have been appealed out after the ball was made live [which, I admit, probably should not have happened UNTIL he had returned, at least to the vicinity of the prior base], after 2 pitches, he's stolen that base fair and square.

There is no rule provision to call him out. It's actually the umpire's fault.

5.09 e) A foul ball is not caught; runners return. The umpire shall not put the ball in play until all runners have retouched their bases;
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Reply With Quote