Quote:
Originally Posted by LakeErieUmp
Not to beat this dead horse to death, but I'm trying to visualize how from a windup a RIGHT-HANDED pitcher can step and throw to THIRD base in an attempt to pick-off a runner without a "natural movement associated with his delivery of the ball to the batter". To first, yes, because stepping to first is not a natural move associated with a pitch. But can he cross his left leg over his right and throw to THIRD under OBR 8.01(a) and comment?
Also, I'm beyond confused in this thread. Where is there anything in the OBR windup rules that permits a FEINT to ANYWHERE while engaged to the rubber?
As always, your help is appreciated.
|
The OBR, when addressing the pitcher feinting to a base, does not distinguish between set and windup positon - the rules simply and consistently say "while touching his plate." Specifically, the only enabling language at all in the OBR - the very awkwardly worded statement in 8.05(c) that says "A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps" does NOT limit itself to the pitcher being in set position. 8.05(c) merely begins with "The pitcher, while touching his plate..."