Steve,
Have you seen this (my emphasis)?
Quote:
(b) The Set Position. Set Position shall be indicated by the pitcher when he stands facing the batter with his pivot foot in contact with, and his other foot in front of, the pitcher’s plate, holding the ball in both hands in front of his body and coming to a complete stop. From such Set Position he may deliver the ball to the batter, throw to a base or step backward off the pitcher’s plate with his pivot foot.
|
As you will notice, it says
exactly the same thing regarding what a pitcher in the Set position may do as what 8.01(a) says a pitcher in the Windup position may do.
Then in the "comment" following 8.05(c), we have the marvelously tortured sentence:
Quote:
...A pitcher is to step directly toward a base before throwing to that base but does not require him to throw (except to first base only) because he steps. ...
|
which lets us know that the pitcher (whether in Set or Windup, since 8.05 makes no distinction between the two) need not throw in making a move to 2B or 3B.
The rules are
identical for windup and set. You already "know" that a pitcher can "feint" from Set. Since the rules are the same, and no credible interpretation says you can't (legally) feint from the windup, you can.
JM