View Single Post
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 13, 2006, 12:18am
SanDiegoSteve SanDiegoSteve is offline
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by PWL
Just like it says, 8.01(a) [1] throw to the batter [2] step and throw to a base to pick off a runner [3] disengage the rubber (if he does he must drop his hands to his side). When the pitcher is in the windup position, anything considered a start and a stop is considered a balk. He doesn't throw to the base. BALK.
That is what I thought too. That is why I was asking for anybody to show me different. Nobody has yet, except to tell me that I'm wrong. Why in the world would either: a) the rule book not specifically state that feints are permitted from the windup, or b) any interpretation clarify the question that begs to be clarified? We are left to think either a) feinting must be okay from the windup since it is from the set, and after all, there is no distinction made, or b) it is a balk since 8.01(a) as much as says so.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote