Let me add a few thoughts here.
Ump Dan, if you are playing ASA rules, then you are playing ASA rules. "Cold plate" is a redundant statement; you are playing ASA 10U rules.
My second point is that Dakota nailed it; it is quite clear in the ASA rulebook, that awarded bases are applied to all runners. Therefore, the award for an overthrow into dead ball territory supercedes the "one base per pitch if not hit" rule.
Third point, that Ump Dan might clarify, is that many of us are assuming that UIC in his post means that the team protested the ruling, and a tournament UIC then made an incorrect ruling. I'm not sure I read that; I'm thinking that he means the PU, also sometimes referred to as the UIC. I can say that, as a UIC, before I keep someone's money, I show them in the rulebook (assuming the ruling is in the rulebook); in this case, that would backfire, since the correct ruling is right there in the middle of the one and only section of 10U FP running rules.
__________________
Steve
ASA/ISF/NCAA/NFHS/PGF
|