Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
Huh?
The batter is out on a fly ball obstruction like this, at least under OBR. Evans says that you should point at this type of obstruction but not signal time until he ball is caught or not caught -- if caught, the batter is out. If not caught, call time and treat as type A obstruction.
|
Here's why I asked.
If in this sitch F1 and F3 were both making an attempt at the fly ball and if F1 'obstructed' before the umpire knew which fielder was protected as the primary fielder, then this could be interference instead of obstruction.