View Single Post
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jun 07, 2006, 08:09pm
Back In The Saddle Back In The Saddle is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: In a little pink house
Posts: 5,289
The rule isn't crystal clear:
Rule 8 Free Throw

SECTION 1 FREE-THROW ADMINISTRATION

ART. 1 . . . When a free throw is awarded, the ball shall be placed at the disposal of the free thrower (bounced) by the administering official and the free throw count shall begin. Either or both teams may be charged with a violation.


So, if you declare it "at the disposal" of the thrower when the ref releases the bounce pass, then you gotta start counting 10 before the thrower even gets it. And you have to consider any last-second lane changes to be violations. Those would be the down sides; I don't see any up sides.

It would also be inconsistent with the (awarded) throw-in where the ball isn't at the disposal of the thrower until it is physically available to him/her.

So put me down for the ball being "at the disposal" when the thrower has, or should have, physical possession of it.
__________________
"It is not enough to do your best; you must know what to do, and then do your best." - W. Edwards Deming
Reply With Quote